Eifel-Blick "Königsberg"

Kall

Share content:

The Königsberg has a height of about 500 metres above sea level and is surrounded by richly structured forest, which is the habitat of many animal and plant species worthy of protection. It therefore belongs to the nature reserve "Auen und Hängen an Urft und Gillesbach", which is also part of the European system of protected areas "Natura 2000".

On the opposite side of the Gillesbach Valley, the Steinfeld Monastery rises in a westerly direction. The complex is considered one of the best preserved monastic monuments in the Rhineland. The history goes back over 1000 years.

During secularisation under French rule, the monastery was abolished in 1802 and fell into state ownership. The buildings subsequently served various secular purposes.

In 1923 the Salvatorian order took over the monastery and revitalized it. Since then, the Salvatorians have provided pastoral care, founded a grammar school and a boys' boarding school, and run a publishing bookshop, an educational establishment and a guest house.

Place

Kall

Contact

Eifel-Blick "Königsberg"
N 50° 30.230' E 006° 34. 600'
53925 Kall-Steinfeld

Homepage

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

You might also be interested in

Naturzentrum Eifel

Naturzentrum Eifel

The Eifel Nature Centre in Nettersheim is a supraregional adventure centre for environmental education with exhibitions on nature and history, making it an exciting destination for the whole family!   Take part in one of the numerous excursions or attend one of the seminars. From family adventure and activity programmes for school classes to children's birthdays - the offers are always accompanied by experts.  The award-winning Dandelion Experience Path and the Archaeological Landscape Park also invite you to go hiking.

Eifel-Blick "Königsberg"

Kall

Inhalte teilen:

Der Königsberg hat eine Höhe von etwa 500 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel und ist von reich strukturiertem Wald umgeben, der Lebensraum vieler schützenswerter Tier- und Pflanzenarten ist. Er gehört deshalb zum Naturschutzgebiet "Auen und Hänge an Urft und Gillesbach", welches gleichzeitig Teil des Europäischen Schutzgebietssystems "Natura 2000" ist.

Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite des Gillesbachtals erhebt sich in westlicher Richtung das Kloster Steinfeld. Die Anlage gilt als eines der am besten erhaltenen klösterlichen Baudenkmäler des Rheinlandes. Die Geschichte reicht über 1000 Jahre weit zurück.

Während der Säkularisierung unter französischer Herrschaft wurde das Kloster 1802 aufgehoben und fiel in staatlichen Besitz. Die Gebäude dienten anschließend verschiedenen weltlichen Nutzungszwecken.

Die Ordensgemeinschaft der Salvatorianer übernahm das Kloster 1923 und belebte es neu. Die Salvatorianer leisten seitdem seelsorgerische Arbeit, gründeten ein Gymnasium und ein Jungeninternat und betreiben eine Verlagsbuchhandlung, eine Bildungsstätte und ein Gästehaus.

Ort

Kall


Kontakt

Eifel-Blick "Königsberg"
N 50° 30.230' E 006° 34. 600'
53925 Kall-Steinfeld

zur Website

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Naturzentrum Eifel

Naturzentrum Eifel

Das Naturzentrum Eifel in Nettersheim ist ein überregionales Erlebniszentrum für Umweltbildung mit Ausstellungen zur Natur und Geschichte und somit ein spannendes Ausflugsziel für die ganze Familie!Nehmen Sie an einer der zahlreichen Exkursionen teil oder besuchen Sie eines der Seminare.Von Familienerlebnis- und Aktivprogrammen für Schulklassen bis zu Kindergeburtstagen - die Angebote sind stets fachkundig begleitet.Auch der prämierte Löwenzahnerlebnispfad und der Archäologische Landschaftspark laden zum Wandern ein.